Lately

Emma's Picture Postcards

Hi! I fell off the radar for a little while there, for a combination of reasons. Mainly, I quit my job, a decision that took up most of my thoughts and emotions for a couple of weeks. I’d never imagined leaving a job without a new one to go to, but bizarrely it was actually the most sensible option! So I’m currently unemployed, but hopefully it will just be short-term.

Secondly, I almost don’t want to mention it since it’s been so over-discussed, but Brexit really hit me hard. I was absolutely astonished by the referendum result, and the fact that it happened on the very same day I quit my job didn’t exactly help me process it! What did help, though, was reading posts from British bloggers who managed to sum up their thoughts (and my feelings) very eloquently: Katy, Morag, Freya, Shannon, Amber and especially Alex.

Third is a nicer reason, which is that I’ve had an unusually full social calendar lately! I had a wonderful catch-up with two of my oldest and favourite friends, one of whom I hadn’t seen for a year as she had been away travelling the world, and the other of whom had just gotten engaged. We had so much to talk about, and washed it down with far too much prosecco and enough home-cooked pasta and bruscetta to feed about 10.

York - Emma's Picture Postcards

I also got to spend time with some new friends, with a couple of visits to Sarah and her daughter Matilda, which were fun, interesting and relaxing all at once, and a weekend trip to York to hang out with James’s best uni friends. York is one of James’s favourite cities, and I quickly saw why, as it’s very charming, and full of quiet little pubs (the main attraction for him, as he’s been an old man since his teens 😀 ). I already knew one of his friends as he’d been up to visit us in Aberdeen, but I hadn’t met the others and was a little bit nervous to impose myself on an established group. I needn’t have worried though as they were lovely and I quickly settled in to a great weekend of eating, drinking, chatting and playing board and card games. The weather was glorious (I even wore shorts!), except on the first night, when James got so thoroughly drenched on the way to dinner that every time the waiter passed him, he punched his shoulder and laughed, “Ha ha! Wet boy.”

Anyway, I’ve missed sharing on this little space, and hope I’m back into the swing of it now. I have had a few drafts on the go, but every time I’ve started writing, my neighbours have started yelling at each other and I’ve lost my train of thought! Let me know in the comments what you’ve been up to lately and check back soon for some book reviews 🙂

3 thoughts on “Lately

  1. Pingback: Happy Things, October 2016 | Emma's Picture Postcards

  2. Pingback: 2016/17 | Emma's Picture Postcards

Leave a Reply

