OOTD: White Shirt and Checks

Emma's Picture Postcards

The new Mango shirt I bought in Germany turned out to be a bit of a tale of woe (quite dramatic, but I’m a Wednesday’s child, please indulge me for a moment ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). It was all crumpled when I got home and unpacked it, so I put it on a hanger and hung it on my wardrobe door handle. Only to wake in the night to find that Lucy had decided it would make the perfect scratching post! Argh! Thankfully the sight of me furiously lunging towards her made her unhook her claws before she didย any major damage, so there are just three tiny holes. Even after a few more days hanging up (inside the wardrobe after that incident!) it was still crumpled, and here’s a confession – I don’t iron. Ain’t nobody got time for that. (Honestly, I’m just really bad at ironing, and my clothes look equally bad when I’m done as when I started, so I don’t bother.) I then also noticed that it’sย handwash only. Gah. A trip back to Germany just for the sake of returning it seemed a little excessive though, and I’d thrown out the receipt for that very reason, so I sucked it up and wore it to work this week. And oh my it’s so comfortable and lovely. I think we’ll get along just fine ๐Ÿ™‚

Emma's Picture Postcards

I’ve had these trousers for a long time and find them a nice alternative to the usual black. They’re fairly thick so perfect for keeping out the Scottish winter wind, but not so thick that they’re too warm to wear in the office.

The boots are relatively new, I think I’ve had them for about six months to a year. I’ve never really had ankle boots before as usually they make me look like I have giant feet on the end of my spindlyย legs, but these are perfect and have had a lot of use this winter. They keep water and snow out, and have enough grip to deal with ice – they’re basically a cheaper and less chunky version of Timberland boots. They’ve also made it easierย to wear more of my trousers, as normally I wear calf/knee-length boots which make anything baggier than tights, leggings or skinny jeans puff out around my knees.

Handmade by Angela - Emma's Picture Postcards

The earrings were handmade by James’s mum, Angie. She makes jewellery as a hobby but her pieces are beautiful and well-made, with their intended owner in mind – every time I saw her for two years she kept promising me a pair, before suddenly deciding she’d sussed out my style and giving me three pairs for Christmas ๐Ÿ™‚ They’re all very pretty but I’m having a pale pink phase so especially love these ones right now.

Emma's Picture Postcards

Shirt – Mango

Trousers – H & M

Boots – New Look

Earrings – handmade by Angela

Leave a Reply

